Partner country of LA Referencia, Mexico has generated national initiatives in the topic of Repositories and Open Access. It is a signatory of the main LA Referencia agreements.

Board of Directors

Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT)

Legislation and policies

Mexico is the third country in Latin America to approve national legislation related to Open Access and Institutional Repositories.

Read Science and Technology Law. Published in the Official Gazette of the Federation on May 20, 2014, establishes the State Policy concerning Open Access, Access to Scientific, Technological and Innovation Information and the National Repository.



Photo: Jezael Melgoza - Available at


Mexico Node: Repositorio Nacional / Beta

The National Repository is the Open Access medium that CONACyT has enabled for consultation and deposit of scientific, technological and innovation information resources (RIACTIs). The National Repository seeks to make available to the general public the information resources derived from scientific, technological and innovation research projects to facilitate their consultation, use and reuse.

Useful links

Guidelines and regulations


e-mail: conacyt [at]​

Related articles

Harvested institutions

  • Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla (BUAP)
  • Centro de Investigación Científica y de Educación Superior de Ensenada Baja California (CICESE)
  • Centro de Investigación en Matemáticas (CIMAT)
  • Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económicas, A.C. (CIDE)
  • Colegio de Postgraduados (COLPOS)
  • Colegio de la Frontera Norte (COLEF)
  • FLACSO México (FLACSO)
  • Instituto Politécnico Nacional (IPN)
  • Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Occidente (ITESO)
  • Instituto de Tecnológico de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey (ITESM)
  • Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana (UAM)
  • Universidad Autónoma de Aguascalientes (UAA)
  • Universidad Autónoma de Hidalgo (UAEH)
  • Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León (UANL)
  • Universidad Autónoma de San Luis Potosí (UASLP)
  • Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México (UAEMEX)
  • Universidad Iberoamericana (UIA)
  • Universidad Michoacana de San Nicolás de Hidalgo (UMICH)
  • Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
  • Universidad Veracruzana (UV)
  • Universidad de Guadalajara (UDG)
  • Universidad de las Américas Puebla (UDLAP)